I had a dream…

Over the years (and I’m not saying how many that might be…), I have had several dreams that were like watching a movie. There was action, drama, conflict, rescues, antagonists, protaganists, various other kind of “agonists”, and all in colour and surround sound. I’ve woken up thinking, “wow” (not terribly eloquent on first waking…). My next thought was usually, “that would make a great story.” Unfortunately, for one reason or another, I never wrote them down and though they stayed with me for a few days, I eventually forgot most of the dream.

Last week though, once I was past the “wow” and the “great story”, I actually managed to get to pen and paper and scribbled down enough notes to form a basic outline for a possible future story. I’m sitting on it now (not literally) while I unravel the bits and pieces of my day that made up the dream just in case I heard or read the storyline somwhere else. It’s been seven days now though, and I’m pretty sure that, so far, it’s all mine.

In my head, and in my dream, it is called, “The Story of Emma.” Now, for all the Emma’s I know, this is not about you. The connection, as far as I can see, is to Jane Austen’s “Emma”. That connection is not very strong though so please do not think this is a rehash or that I’m going to introduce otherworldly beings into a classic novel. I shudder at the thought.

That’s all I’m going to say about the story at this point. Now, to get on to why I’ve mentioned it at all.

A couple of posts ago, I talked about ideas and where they come from. This dream reminded me of where a few stories have been worked on and that the mind is always working. The key is to let go of the mundane and let loose the creative meanderings of your imagination. Make yourself a blank slate for a little while – drift and the ideas will find their way to you.

And keep a notebook handy always. Ideas can be like sand sifting through your fingers; there for only a short while before they scatter at your feet.

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. excellent.
    ive been working on a ‘dream’ story for a month or so.
    the dreams was so disturbing, it shook me to my core.

    good luck!

    http://www.panicmonster.com

  2. read it!!
    I do like the name Emma

  3. is there a mr knightley?… are there zombies?

Leave a Reply

Australian Historical Association

Early Career Researchers

Jackie Smith Writes

Freelance Journalist/Editor and Proofreader

Yvette Hollings

Melbourne-based freelance writer, proofreader and editor

FictionFan's Book Reviews

Reviews of books...and occasional other stuff.

A While in the Woods

Reading. Writing. Wandering.

ISOBEL BLACKTHORN

fiction of substance

The Dialogue Architect

Everything Entertainment

Sportseeker

One girl's mission to uncover her hidden sporting talent

WILL MARCK

Author and Book Reviewer

