I wanna be a travel writer!

So I figure that first I must travel and second, write about it! How easy is that?

I’m in a quandary.

1. Where to go to? Should I travel somewhere exotic, mildly exotic, not exotic at all but it took me awhile to get there, jump on the train and go to the beach 20 minutes away?

2. If I live near a place where other people like to travel to, can I go there as well and write about the experience?

3. Do I really have to get up and watch the sunrise?

4. If I travel somewhere exotic, do I take a laptop or pen and paper? Laptops and their paraphenalia get kind of heavy and cumbersome, need watching, and require electricity. Pen and paper require me to write neatly enough to understand the words at a later date… I think I’ve answered my own question, relearn penmanship and save myself from a hunched back!

5. To be a travel-writer I need to earn enough money to pay for my travels. If I have a day job, I can’t travel. Are there any publishers out there interested in what a suburban mum travelling with teenagers in tow has to write about sometime after the sun has risen and before she’s collapsed back onto her hotel bed in exhaustion? I promise to go further than the beach… I may even leave the country!

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Sometimes its the secret places near to us that are the most exciting and intriguing for others. I live in Wales in the UK, where the secret gems on my doorstep are endless!

    Ruined castle, anyone?

    I’d love to hear about the places near you, that you know best.

    • Trish Anders 26/08/2011 — 8:58 am

      I would love a ruined castle to explore!

      I will do my best to get some words down on my local area. It’s almost warm enough to venture down to the beach again…

      Trish

Leave a Reply

Australian Historical Association

Early Career Researchers

Jackie Smith

For all your writing and editing needs

Yvette Hollings

Melbourne-based freelance writer, proofreader and editor

FictionFan's Book Reviews

Reviews of books...and occasional other stuff.

A While in the Woods

Reading. Writing. Wandering.

ISOBEL BLACKTHORN

fiction of substance

The Dialogue Architect

Everything Entertainment

Sportseeker

One girl's mission to uncover her hidden sporting talent

WILL MARCK

Author and Book Reviewer

