North and South: is the book as good as the film?

I would like to review this book, but I haven’t read it yet. You see, I was given a copy for Mother’s Day by my youngest Angel. We’ve watched the movie (or is it classified as a mini-series?) several times: there is just no getting past Richard Armitage in this one. Ooh la la! He and Daniella Denby-Ashe do such a good job of swapping hate for love that we are in danger of judging all romantic moments by their kiss at the train station! I love that instant when John Thornton realises Catherine Hale returns his love… <sigh> so romantic.

North and South
The moment...
North and South
The kiss...

But I’m getting distracted, I’m writing about the book that I have yet to start reading. You see I watched the show… and, for possibly the first time ever, I’m wondering if the book will be as good.

I am very much looking forward to several hundred pages of Richard Armitage, I mean, John Thornton, including all the scenes that didn’t make it to the film. And I do love a good period drama… I’m a big Jane Austen fan – surely it can’t be that much different. However, I’m stalling. I really don’t want to be disappointed and I don’t know anyone who has read it so I can’t ask their opinion.

I flicked through a biography on Elizabeth Gaskell. It was very long though there were several quite interesting bits. I like the Unitarian connections she had with her family and friends, and her belief in the validity and importance of truth in all things. This theme of truth being the most important thing comes across quite strongly in the film so I assume it will in the book (and probably all her others) as well

I suppose I need to stop stalling and get on with it. After all, a tall dark and handsome man in a starched collar and black coat is waiting for me….

North and South
Richard Armitage as John Thornton

Images from: http://www.richardarmitageonline.com/index.html

Leave a Reply

Australian Historical Association

Early Career Researchers

Jackie Smith

For all your writing and editing needs

Yvette Hollings

Melbourne-based freelance writer, proofreader and editor

FictionFan's Book Reviews

Reviews of books...and occasional other stuff.

A While in the Woods

Reading. Writing. Wandering.

ISOBEL BLACKTHORN

fiction of substance

The Dialogue Architect

Everything Entertainment

Sportseeker

One girl's mission to uncover her hidden sporting talent

WILL MARCK

Author and Book Reviewer

