What’s in a name?

I’ve had a few blogs over the years and I’ve always spent a lot of thought (whole minutes at a time) on what to call the darn things. My last one, which is still floating around in blog world, was titled, “Diary of an Inconsistent Writer”. The point being that I find it near impossible to write blog articles with any sort of consistent regularity. This blog started off as something else as well.

In a fit of pms fueled pique that no one actually ever read the darn thing, I removed all the posts and was on the verge of deleting the whole thing, when it occurred to me that collecting a bunch of readers wasn’t what motivated me to write in the first place. I write because it’s what I like to do. Like reading, going for walks on the beach and a whole host of things I enjoy doing.  I don’t need an audience for those things and I don’t really need it for writing either.

Bringing it all back to reality (and that’s not an easy thing to do when the hormones are racing through your veins), I decided not to delete the blog and to keep writing. If occasionally I had a view, well, that was nice, but I wasn’t going to worry overly if I didn’t. As far as looking for readers, all I do is comment elsewhere when I feel inspired to do so and leave my little calling card in case the comment would like to be returned.

Not having a particular schedule for writing also freed me from the pressure of the whole thing especially as that meant I spent less time looking at the stats.

This was all a year or so ago. Not long after that, once I’d shaken the need to collect readers I decided to rename the blog “The Readerless Writer”. It may sound a bit like I’m feeling sorry for myself, but not at all. It’s a recognition of the fact, that I write these bits and pieces for my own need to put words down on paper (so to speak) and not for the need to be read.

Don’t get me wrong. I do like to have readers, but it’s not the foundation of my writing. I still check out the Insights to see how many views I’ve had. If I get one a day I feel good. I had 15 on the 25th! But that’s now a fun by-product of writing online not the be-all/end-all of the exercise. Sometimes it takes a bit of hormonal pique to kick you in the backside before you realise what’s really important to you.

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. First off, thanks for subscribing to my blog. As with you, I’m not sure how consistent I will be posting regularly; I already feel behind. Others post almost everyday! I’m planning on trying to work something in once a week. Ha. We’ll see how that goes.

    I look forward to reading more of your posts. Really drawn to your sense of humor.

    Thanks.

    • Trish Anders 03/10/2011 — 5:53 am

      Hi Kat. You’re welcome and thanks for the return comment and subscription. Good luck with blogging regularly. Sometimes it’s easy and sometimes it’s not. The hard part is the amount of pressure you can put on yourself. The fun part is simply in the writing itself. I suppose that’s why we’re all here in blogland. Take care, Trish

  2. I’m glad you’ve kept it.

Leave a Reply

FictionFan's Book Reviews

Reviews of books...and occasional other stuff.

A While in the Woods

Reading. Writing. Wandering.

ISOBEL BLACKTHORN

fiction of substance

The Dialogue Architect

Everything Entertainment

Sportseeker

One girl's mission to uncover her hidden sporting talent

WILL MARCK

Author and Book Reviewer

patricia.leslie

Author of Urban Fantasy

The Sportist

Because women play sport too

